Luís Tinoco

Luís Tinoco, Composer in Residence @ São Carlos National Theatre

photo by Katharine Rawdon

Luís Tinoco becomes the São Carlos National Theatre‘s Composer in Residence from the beginning of the 2016/17 season. As Composer in Residence, Tinoco will work closely with the Portuguese Symphony Orchestra and with music theatre projects, starting with the première of a Cello Concerto written for Filipe Quaresma and scheduled to be premièred in February 2017, with the OSP conducted by Pedro Neves. Click here to know more. Filipe_Quaresma

During his residency Tinoco will  also play an active role in the São Carlos’s education activities, mentoring four young composers.

Other previous collaborations with the São Carlos Theatre include the composition of the chamber opera Paint Me – a co-production with the Culturgest with libretto by Stephen Plaice and directed by Rui Horta - and, more recently, the composition of Incipit, for symphony orchestra.

OSP performs “Incipit” at Casa da Música

Following the Portuguese première of Incipit in Lisbon, on the 15th of May, the Portuguese Symphony Orchestra conducted by Joana Carneiro will now bring this work to the city of Porto, with a new performance at Casa da Música – Sala Sugia, on the 25th of June, 9.00 pm. Click here and here to know more.  Joana_Carneiro

Incipit was written in 2015, following a commission from the OPART to celebrate the 450th anniversary of the foundation of the city of Rio de Janeiro, and it was first performed in June of the same year by the Brazilian Symphony Orchestra at the City of the Arts and the Theatro Municipal. The music score of this work quotes some excerpts from ‘Audivi Vocem de Caelo’ a motet by the Renaissance and early Baroque Portuguese composer Duarte Lobo. Click here to listen to this motet.

Paulo Vassalo Lourenço

Paulo Vassalo Lourenço

On this same day, at 9.30 pm., the Gulbenkian Choir conducted by Paulo Vassalo Lourenço will sing Descubro a Voz at the Jerónimos Monastery in Lisbon. This concert program offers a rich approach to Iberian poetry with works written by a varied group of composers of the 20th and 21st centuries.

“Centaur” – New collaboration with the CNB

cnb_carnaval_home_page_v02_1464881604Following a first collaboration in November 2014, composing the music for Paulo Ribeiro‘s choreography Lídia, Luís Tinoco has written a new score for the CNB‘s latest production Carnival – a fantasy after Camille Saint-Saëns’ “The Carnival of the Animals”. This new production, with choreography by Victor Hugo Pontes and music direction by Cesário Costa, conducting the Portuguese Symphony Orchestra, gathers a group of 12 Portuguese composers that have written the music for separate tableaux to be interspersed with Saint-Saëns‘ work: Sérgio Azevedo, Carlos Caires, Eurico Carrapatoso, Andreia Pinto Correia, Nuno Corte-Real, Pedro Faria Gomes, Mário Laginha, João Madureira, Carlos Marecos, Daniel Schvetz, Luís Tinoco and António Pinho Vargas. The title for Tinoco’s contribution for this collaborative work is “Centaur – Chiron“. Carnaval_ensaios

Carnival will have its première on the 16th of June, 9.00 pm, at the Teatro Camões in Lisbon, and it will be followed by seven more performances on the 17th, 18th, 23rd, 24th, 25th (9.00 pm); and the 19th and 26th at 4.00 pm. Two more performances on the 1st (9.30 pm) and the 2nd (7.00 pm) of July are also scheduled for the Rivoli Theatre, in the city of Porto. Click here to know more.

Tinoco on Youtube

Click on the following links to watch and hear some fragments of chamber, stage and orchestral music: